First Division Clubs

Umm Salal Club

  • Founded: 1996
  • Chairman: Sheikh Ahmed bin Faisal Al Thani
  • Coach: Bulent Uygun
  • Telephone: 0097444788115 
  • Fax: 0097444795830 
  • Official


Club Location

Previously known as Al Tadamun, Umm Salal were formed in 1996, hey won the Qatari 2nd Division in their second season, and two more times in 2000 and 2006. In 2004, the club’s name, Al Tadamun Club, was changed to what it is presently known as, Umm Salal, by decision of the Qatar Olympic Committee.

Umm Salal were promoted to the Qatari league in 2006-07. Then they never looked back, finishing third in consecutive seasons. In 2008 they qualified for the AFC Champions League 2009 after defeating Al Gharafa 4-1 on penalties in the Emir Cup final. They finished in the semi-finals, which was the furthest any Qatari club had ever advanced at that time.

The team’s nickname, Barzan’s Falcons, is a reference to the Barzan Tower, which the Umm Salal Mohammed Fort houses. The tower became renowned for being used during Ramadan to ensure the holy month was observed at the correct time.

حمد الكبير 2

Emir Cup
Winners (1): 2008

Sheikh Jassim Cup
Winners (1): 2009

Second Division League
Winners (3): 1998, 2000, 2006