Qatar Football AssociationNews
14.12.2016 10:18 in :

Kuala Lumpur: Recently crowned winners Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors learned their Group Stage opponents for the 2017 edition of the AFC Champions League on Tuesday following the competition’s official draw in Kuala Lumpur.

The Korea Republic giants, who defeated Al Ain 3-2 on aggregate to seal a second continental success, will begin their title defence against Australia’s Adelaide United, Jiangsu FC from China and ayet to be decided Play-off winner, in what appears to be a decidedly difficult Group H.

Beaten finalists and United Arab Emirates powerhouse Al Ainwill, meanwhile, begin their latest AFC Champions League campaign from Group Cwhere they are set to face formidable foes in the shape of Al Ahli FCfrom Saudi Arabia, Iran’s Zobahan FC and the winner of the Play-off between Qatar’s El Jaish SC and FC Bunyodkor from Uzbekistan.

Elsewhere, 2013 and 2015 winners Guangzhou Evergrande have been drawn in Group Galong with Suwon Samsung Bluewings from Korea Republic, Eastern SC of Hong Kongand Japan’s third -yet to be decided – club, while Australia’s Western Sydney Wanderers, champions in 2014, find themselves in Group Fwith K League Classic winners FC Seoul, Japan’s second club and one of Shanghai SIPG, Sukhothai FC or Yadanarbon FC.

Group A
1. Al Ahli FC (UAE)
2. PFC Lokomotiv (UZB)
3. Al Taawoun(KSA)
4. Play-off winner (IRN/QAT)

Group B
1. Esteghlal Khouzestan FC (IRN)
2. Al Jazira (UAE)
3. Lekhwiya SC (QAT)
4. Play-off winner (KSA/UZB/BHR)

Group C
1. Al Ahli Saudi FC (KSA)
2. Zobahan FC (IRN)
3. Al Ain FC (UAE)
4. Play-off wnner (QAT/UZB)

Group D
1. Al Rayyan SC (QAT)
2. Al Hilal SFC (KSA)
3. Persepolis FC (IRN)
4. Play-off winner (UAE/JOR/IND)

Group E
1. Kashima Antlers (JPN)
2. Muangthong United (THA)
3. Play-off winner (CHN/AUS/PHI/SIN)
4. Play-off winner (KOR/HKG/VIE)

Group F
1. FC Seoul (KOR)
2. Japan 2nd Club (JPN)
3. Western Sydney Wanderers (AUS)
4. Play-off winner (CHN/THA/MYA)

Group G
1. Guangzhou Evergrande FC (CHN)
2. Suwon Samsung Bluewings (KOR)
3. Japan 3rd Club (JPN)
4. Eastern SC (HKG)

Group H
1. Adelaide United (AUS)
2. Jiangsu FC (CHN)
3. Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors(KOR)
4. Play-off winner (JPN/THA/MAS)