Qatar Football AssociationNews
25.09.2017 13:56 in :

DOHA : The Arab Gulf Cup Football Federation (AGCFF) conducted the draw ceremony of the 23rd Gulf Nations Cup Qatar 2017 today in the Qatari capital, Doha.

The competition is set to take place in Doha, Qatar, from 22 December 2017 to 5 January 2018.

The draw was attended by Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa bin Ahmed Al Thani, President of the AGCFF, Dr. Thani Al Kuwari, Secretary General of the Qatar Olympic Committee (QOC), Saoud Al Mohannadi, Vice President of the Qatar Football Association (QFA), Jassim Al Rumaihi, Secretary General of the AGCFF, Ahmed Al Buainain, QFA Executive Committee member, Hani Ballan, QFA Executive Committee member, Mansoor Al Ansari, General Secretary of the QFA, AGCFF Executive Committee members, AGCFF committee members, and members of the media.

During the ceremony, the new logo of the AGCFF was revealed, which aims to emphasize on the unity and cohesion in the Gulf region. A video was also presented to highlight the historic tournament since its inception, and the most important goals and aspirations of the AGCFF.

The draw was conducted by Hamad Al Mannai, Director of Competitions of the AGCFF.

Qatar (hosts) was placed as the first team in Group A and Saudi Arabia (22nd edition champions) were placed as the first team in Group B, while the rest of the teams were seeded into 3 categories based on the latest FIFA rankings in September. The first category includes UAE and Iraq, the second includes Oman and Bahrain, and the third Yemen.

The draw results are as follows:

Group A: Qatar (hosts), Bahrain, Iraq, Yemen

*Group B: Saudi Arabia, Oman, United Arab Emirates

*Kuwait would be the fourth Group B team should FIFA lift their suspension before competition kickoff.