Al Wakrah Club

  • Founded: 1959
  • Chairman: Sheikh Khalifa bin Hassan Al Thani
  • Coach: Mauricio Larriera
  • Telephone: 0097444641010 
  • Fax: 0097444640353 
  • Email[email protected]
  • Official




Club Location

Representing the Southern city of Al Wakrah; the club was founded in 1959, and was officially legitimized in 1965 under the name of Al Wakrah Youth Club. From that time, its football and handball sections were formed, with both participating in local competitions. It later changed its name to Al Wakrah Sports Club in 1967. Over the years, it branched out to many sports, including chess, basketball, and bowling.

The new club headquarters was constructed in 1984, and tennis and squash teams were also formed during this time in addition to its previously formed sports teams. They won the Qatari league twice, once in 1999 and again in 2001.



  • Saoud bin Abdulrahman Stadium
  • Built in : 1984
  • Capacity : 15,000
  • Location : Al Wakrah city







Qatar Stars league
Winners (2): 1999, 2001

Heir Apparent Cup
Winners (1): 1999

Sheikh Jassim Cup
Winners (4): 1989, 1991, 1998, 2004

Winners (1): 2011




FIFA Ranking Who's at the Top

94 Qatar
96 Uzbekistan
97 India