Amir Cup

Amir Cup

Featuring all first and second division in Qatar; The Amir Cup is the biggest football cup competition in the country.

The Amir Cup was first played in 1972/73 and was won by Al Ahli. The event is contested every season by all QNB Stars League  and Second Division teams. The most successful team are Al Sadd who won the tournament 16 times followed by Al Arabi who have bagged the title on 8 occasions. Al Duhail are the defending champions.

The Amir Cup has undergone a few changes since it was first played in the early 70s. In 1999, it was decide to include Second Division sides along with the top tier teams playing for Qatar national league title. In 2004, the tournament was planed in such a manner that the event would last five stages.

This year, a total of 17 teams will feature in the  event.

The matches will be played on a knockout system. In case of a stalemate during regulation time, a penalty shootout will be played to get a clear winner.

To begin the Round of 16, matches were held on 5, 6, 7 and 8 February 2020 at Al Ahli, Al Duhail, Al Arabi and Al Gharafa stadiums  with two matches per day (Kick off 4:30pm and 7:30).

The quarter-finals will start from March 11-14, and the semi-final and final rounds will take place in May after the end of the QNB Stars League matches, where the winning teams from the 16th round will qualify to play in the quarter-finals. The final will be played on May 14, 2020.

A total of eight clubs have won the Amir Cup. Al-Duhail won the last title as Al-Sadd finished runners-up.

Al-Sadd have won the Amir Cup 16 times having bagged two back-to-back titles at the expense of Al Sailiya and the El Jaish. Followed by Al-Arabi who won the title on eight occasions , Al-Gharafa 7, Al-Rayyan 6,  Al-Ahli 4, Al-Duhail 3, Qatar Sports Club 2 titles and lastly Umm Salal with one title.

Champions Record


    Round :
  • All
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
    Club :
  • All
  • النادي العربي
  • نادي الغرافة
  • نادي الشمال
  • نادي الخور
  • النادي الأهلي
  • نادي قـطـر
  • نادي الوكرة
  • نادي السـد
  • نادي مسيمير
  • نادي السيلية
  • نادي المرخية
  • نادي أم صلال
  • نادي الخريطيات
  • نادي الشحانية
  • نادي معيذر
  • نادي الدحيل
  • نادي الريان