Qatar Football AssociationNational Teams | U-19
19.06.2020 10:47 in :

KUALA LUMPUR: Qatar has been placed in Group D of the AFC U-19 Championship, alongside Yemen, Tajikistan and Malaysia, which will take place in Uzbekistan from Oct. 14-31.

This came from the draw ceremony held on Thursday through a video call from the AFC headquarters in Kuala Lumpur.

The 16 teams, participating in the championship, are distributed into four groups comprising of four teams. The first two places from each group qualify to the quarter-finals.

Group A consists of Uzbekistan, Indonesia, Cambodia and Iran, Group B consists of South Korea, Japan, Iraq and Bahrain, Group C consists of Saudi Arabia, Australia, Vietnam and Laos, and Group D consists of Qatar, Tajikistan, Malaysia and Yemen.

The first four teams in the tournament will qualify to represent Asia in the 2021 FIFA U-20 World Cup in Indonesia.

Saudi Arabia won the title of the last AFC U-19 Championship that was held in Indonesia in 2018 after defeating South Korea 2-1 in the final.