Qatar Football AssociationNews
02.08.2016 5:01 in :

L’ Alcudia, Spain: Substitute Hazem Ahmed took the plaudits as he

scored a goal and provided the assist for another to grant Qatar a

2-0 victory against Costa Rica in the third round of Group B in the

L ’Alcúdia International under-20 Football Tournament, at Els Arcs

Municipal Stadium, L’ Alcudia.

The win secured Qatar a place in the semi-final alongside group

leaders Argentina.

Other teams in the group include Mexico, Costa Rica and Morocco.

Qatar will tomorrow take on hosts Spain in the semi-final, while

Argentina and Venezuela lock horns for a place in the final.

For Qatar, any result short of a win meant the Oscar Cano boys

would head home earlier than expected, but they were tested

at the back in just the sixth minute when goalie Mohammed Al

Bacri palmed a long range shot away from goal.

However, Cano’s side responded well though with Tarek Salman

firing a long range shot wide, before striker Hassan Ahmed failed

to connect with an attempted shot with the Costa Rica goal gaping.

Qatar continued to cause a threat as the opening half drew to a close

and they were inches away from opening the score when Abdulrasheed

Ibrahim crossed low towards Hassan Ahmed who glazed the ball with

the boot studs away from the left post.

After the interval, the Qataris continued to press and it was Abdulrasheed

replacement, Hazem Ahmed, who broke the deadlock on 52 minutes, precisely

finishing Tarek Salman’s inch-perfect pass past the keeper for Qatar’s first

goal in the tournament.


Just three minutes later, Qatar’s main striker Hassan Ahmed put the game

beyond Costa Rica’s reach, Hazem produced another moment of brilliance

as he toyed with two defenders before setting up Hassan Ahmed with a

cheeky pass.

Qatar is featuring in the event to prepare for this year’s AFC U-20 Asian

Cup to be held in Bahrain in October.

Qatar are the defending champions.

Qatar line-up: Qatar Line- up: Mohammed Al Bacri (GK), Khalifa Al

Malki, Bassam Hisham, Abdullah Abdulsalam, Hassan Ahmed, Hassan

Waleed, Mohammed Al Minhali, Hussien Bahzad, Tarek Salman, Khalid

Muneer and Abdulrasheed Ibrahim

Substitutes: Adel Badr, Hazem Ahmed, Monkez Adi, Sayed Hassan and

Nasser Abdulsalam.