Qatar Football AssociationQFA Awards

QFA Awards

The Qatar Football Association’s (QFA) Awards are presented annually at the end of the football season in recognition of the most outstanding players, coaches, managers and referees in the previous Qatari football season.

since its inception in 2006; the recipients are voted by a panel consisting of QNB Stars League team coaches, Qatar national team coach, Qatar U-23 team coach, team managers, media representatives, representative of the QFA, representative of Qatar Stars League and President and Executive Committee members of the QFA.

In the fourteent previous editions, former Qatar coach Jorge Fossati holds the record for most QFA Awards honors (3), meanwhile, Al Rayyan’s Rodrigo Tabata was voted player of the year on two occasions in addition to claiming the Mansoor Muftah top scorer Award once.

After winning the 2018/2019 QNB Stars League; Al Sadd unsurprisingly scooped the majority of the season’s awards. Qatari international Akram Afif was adjudged as the Best Player of the season, the Top Scorer’s award went to another Al Sadd striker, Baghdad Bounedjah.

Al Sadd tactician Ferreira won his race ahead of Al Sailiya’s Tunisian coach Sami Trabelsi and Al Shahania’s Spanish master Jose Murcia.

The award was presented by QFA’s National Teams Management’s Technical Expert Saeed Al Misnad.

Al Duhail’s Qatar international Bassam Al Rawi emerged as the Best Under-23 Player after beating off competition from Al Ahli’s Abdulrahman Fahmy and Al Gharafa goalkeeper Yousef Hassan.

The player received the award from former Moroccan international Youssef Chippo.

The Yarmouk Preparatory School for Boys won the Football For All Award while Abdulrahman Al Jassim, Taleb Salem Al Marri and Saoud Ahmed were named as Best Referees.

Year Player of the year Coach of the year
2006 Sebstian Soria Jorge Fossati
2007 Emerson Jorge Fossati
2008 Aziz bin Askar Marcos Paqueta
2009 Leonardo Pisculich Sebastiao Lazaroni
2010 Juninho Junior Caio
2011 Bakari Kone Abdullah Mubarak
2012 Rodrigo Tabata Diego Aguirre
2013 Khalfan Ibrahim Hussien Amouta
2014 Nadir Belhadj Sami El Trabelsi
2015 Hassan Al Haydos Michael Laudrup
2016 Rodrigo Tabata Jorge Fossati
2017 Nam Tae-hee Jesualdo Ferreira
2018 Youssef Msakni Djamel Belmadi
2019 Akram Afif Jesualdo Ferreira
2020 Akram Afif Diego Aguirre
2021 Santi Cazorla Xavi Hernandez