Qatar Football AssociationNews
29.08.2013 11:29 in :

DOHA: Qatar will join five regional powerhouses vying for top honorsin the in theGCCUnder-17 Cup set to begin at Aspire Dome on September 3.

The six participating countries include Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Kingdom of Bahrain, theUnited ArabEmirates(UAE), Oman and hosts Qatar.

The tournament will consist of two groups where the teams will compete against one another and then battle for the1st,2nd,3rd,4th,5th, and6thplaces. The tournament was first held in 2001.

The Under-17 Gulf Cup is an annualfootballcompetition organized by the Arabfootballruling body.

Saudi Arabia hold the record for most titles, emerging winners a total of four times, followed by United Arab Emirates (UAE) who have bagged the winner’s trophy on three occasions.

Saudi Arabia won the title in 2012, 2011, 2008 and 2003 whileUAE emerged champions in 2010, 2009, and 2006.

Khalid AlKuwari, Director of Marketing and Communications of Qatar Football Association (QFA), said: “We are pleased to host theGCCU-17 Cup once again and are hoping to witness interesting matches in this tournament. All our marketing and media efforts have been focused towards this important tournament so that we promote football to our fans in Qatar.”

He added: “We hope football fans in Qatar attend the matches at Aspire Dome to support their teams. The Host Broadcaster of the tournament is AlKassChannel. We thank our partners for their continued support and we hope to build on the existing relationship.”

Two matches will be played on September 3, 5 and 7 with first kick-off set for 4:00pm.

The second match on the three days will kick-off at 6:45pm.

The match on September 9 will start at 5:00pm.

The two semi-finals will be played on September 10 at 4:00pmand 7:00pm.

The final will start at 7:00pm.