Qatar Football AssociationCSR
04.12.2017 17:15 in : &

Doha:  The 5th edition of the School League for the 2017-2018 sports season will kick-off tomorrow, Monday, December 4, 2017 and will see the participation of twenty male high-schools from across Qatar. The School League is organised by the Qatar Football Association (QFA) in cooperation with the Qatar School Sports Association (QSSA) and is under the supervision of the Ministry of Education and Higher Education.

In its fifth edition, the league is the product of a fruitful cooperation between the QFA and the QSSA as it is in line with both organisations’ goals to instill a culture of football in society and among the youth.

The league will start with the week 2 matches after the postponement of the first week’s matches. Weekly matches will be held on Mondays and Tuesdays and will be played in the morning, starting from 9am. Three stadiums’ training fields will host the matches this year, those include Al Arabi, Al Sadd and Al Kharaitiyat.

Participating schools will first play group stage matches, followed by quarter-finals, semi-finals and a final match. Matches will be officiated by official QFA referees to instill in young students the fundamental values of fair play.

Teams this year have been divided into 3 groups, with group A, group B and Group C consisting of seven, six, and seven teams respectively.

Group A teams feature Al Wakrah High School, Doha High School, Qatar Independent Technical High School, Tariq Bin Zeyad High School, Hassaan Bin Thabit High School, Al Shahania High School and Khalifa High School.

Group B teams include Ahmed Bin Hanbal High School, Ahmed Bin Mohammed Al Thani High School, Mohamed Bin Abdulwahab High School, Omar Bin Abdulaziz High School, Al Sailiya High School, and Al Jumailiya High School.

Group C teams include Ibn Taimiya High School, Hamad Bin Abdullah Bin Jassim High School, Jassim Bin Hamad High School, Abdullah Al Misnad High School, Al Shamal High School, Nasser Bin Abdullah Al Attiyah High School, and Al Zubara High School.

The five opening week 2 matches on Monday December 4 will see Al Wakrah High School take on Khalifa High School, Doha High School take on Hassaan Bin Thabit High School in Al Arabi Stadium, Ahmed Bin Hanbal High School take on Al Jumailiya High School in Al Sadd Stadium, and Ibn Taimiya High School take on Al Zubara High School, Hamad Bin Abdullah take on Al Shamal High School in Al Kharaitiyat SC. The week 2 matches will end on Tuesday December 5 with three matches, where Qatar Independent Technical High School meets Tariq Bin Zeyad High School at Al Arabi Stadium, Ahmed bin Mohammed meets Mohamed Bin Abdulwahab High School at Al Sadd Stadium, and Jassim Bin Hamad meets Abdullah Al Misnad High School at Al Kharaitiyat SC.

Hilal Al Mohannadi, Chairman of the Qatar Football Association’s Sub-League Committee said: “The continuation of the School League until now showcases the continued success achieved over the previous four editions, especially that every year the schools are eager to participate again and compete for title.”

He added: “The school league comes as a fruitful cooperation with the Qatar School Sports Association which aims to spread the culture of playing football among school students and create a football-loving generation. I wish all the schools the best of luck and hope to see a good media interest in the league this year.”

Al Mohannadi went on to thank the partners of the league for their continuous efforts and sponsorship that undoubtedly contributes to the success of the tournament.

The league is sponsored by the Supreme Committee for Delivery & Legacy as the official strategic partner, Qatar National Bank as the exclusive financial partner, Nike as the official supplier, and Al Kass Sports Channels as the official broadcaster.

The first School League kicked off in 2013-14 in which Ibn Taimiya High School were crowned champions.

Mohammed Al Mana High School football team were champions of the second edition, while Al Shahania High School were champions of third edition, and Ahmed Bin Hanbal High School were champions of the fourth edition.