Qatar Football AssociationNews
27.10.2014 2:43 in :

DOHA: The Qatar Football Association (QFA) and Qatar Foundation for Education, Science and Community Development (QF) have held the University League draw for the forthcoming football tournament.

The draw, which took place at QF’s Recreation Centre, was conducted by QF and QFA officials and attended by several representatives from participating colleges and universities. Twelve colleges and universities from across Qatar took part in the draw and are set to compete at Qatar Foundation from October 30, 2014, until February 12, 2015.

The University League, a university football competition, is part of a collaboration between QF and QFA, and supports both organisations’ mission to foster a progressive society and encourage healthy living through football.

QFA’s Chief Operations Officer, Khalid Mubarak al-Kuwari said: “Organising the University League with Qatar Foundation showcases QFA’s commitment in nurturing the football culture in Qatar and encouraging the youth to adopt a healthy lifestyle through playing football. The results today indicate that a strong league will take place this year, and we look forward to witnessing top level performance and good sportsmanship by the university players.”

Commenting about the University League, QF executive director of Operations Mohamed K al-Suwaidi said: “Following the success of last year’s competition, we are extremely happy to be working alongside QFA in the University League. The University League is an event aligned with QF’s community development pillar and highlights the organisation’s efforts to promote and support football at Education City and among the youth in universities across Qatar.”

Last year’s competition saw Qatar University win the trophy, while the University of Calgary and Qatar Aeronautical College came second and third respectively.

This year, the league will have two groups — Group A and Group B, each with six teams. Group A of the league includes Qatar Aeronautical College, Qatar Faculty of Islamic Studies, Texas A&M University, Carnegie Mellon University, Weill Cornell Medical College and College of the North Atlantic. Group B includes Northwestern University, Qatar University, Georgetown University School of Foreign Service, HEC Paris , the Academic Bridge Programme and the University of Calgary.

The first and second place teams of Group A and Group B will qualify straight to the semi-finals. The winning teams from the semi-finals will qualify to the finals stage and compete for the title. The first three teams will receive trophies from QF as well as prize money from QFA. Prizes will also be awarded to the best player, goalkeeper, scorer, and best team fair play.

The teams

Group A

*Qatar Aeronautical College

*Qatar Faculty of Islamic Studies

*Texas A&M University

*Carnegie Mellon University

*Weill Cornell Medical College

*College of the North Atlantic

Group B

*Northwestern University

*Qatar University

*Georgetown University School of Foreign Service

*HEC Paris

*Academic Bridge Programme

*University of Calgary

جامعات 3